FMP: Documentary

Friday 10th March

Journal #1

Analysis of Brushgrove Hotel

High angle shot overseeing the river and the other houses. The companies logo in big. Cuts to beat looking further in the distance. Panning shot showing the hotel. Drone shot flying over the river and over the hotel. High angle shot overseeing the whole location. High angle shot showing the island, bridge, river and the location. Panning shot of the hotel’s porch, interior. M/S bedroom, panning shot of bedroom, W/S of the games room. W/S panning of the bar. From 2 angles W/S panning dining area from 2 different angles. W/S sweeping showing the kitchen from 3 different angles. W/S of the outside area from 2 angles. W/S sweeping across the garden area. C/U flowers. W/S showing play area and the river. L/S river stretch. W/S panning around the hotel. Drone shot go the hotel. Drone shot panning out of the hotel to show the location. Fade to black with the contact details for the hotel. All of the shots are bright eye catching and all would gov the viewer the ‘wow factor’ about the location. the music overtop is calm, relaxing acoustic song.

Analysis of Billy and Ellen’s wedding

https://vimeo.com/145030189

Shot of trees going by with the production title overtop. Cut to beat, W/S of cars driving, hillside and road through the middle. W/S sea and beach. M/S sea and trees. C/U tree leaves with he sun seeping through. M/S trees. M/S through car windshield with sun glare. Slow motion tracking viewing the hillside. W/S trees and road. L/S house on a hill. M/S Billy, Ellen in slow motion with a M/S of people drinking and talking. C/U bottle of drink with the sun shining through it. W/S trees and the scenery. W/S out of depth people chatting by the sunset. C/U leaves. W/S of the house, cars and trees. W/S chairs for the reception. C/U signs for the wedding. M/S people talking. W/S gazebo, W/S people eating around the table. C/U Billy side on. M/S Billy and Ellen together. C/U kid singing. W/U panning up at a house with the title ‘The Wedding Day’. M/S Ellen throwing thumbs up. M/S Billy on a computer. M/S Billy and Ellen together. W/S countryside. M/s people getting ready. M/S guys in the sea. C/U of a mug. C/U people in a coffee shop talking. W/S M/S guys in a car. C/U watch saying ‘Getting Married, C/U Phone saying ‘Getting Married’. C/U someone putting on braces. M/S helping each other out getting ready. C/U different bow ties. M/S guys driving to the wedding. W/S countryside and road. W/s guys at the ceremony. M/S of the minister. W/S bridesmaids come in. W/S bride and dad walking through. M/S Billy and Ellen facing each other. M/S Billy and Ellen saying their vows. W/S minister announcing their marriage. M/S Billy and Ellen together under a tree in slow motion. Jump cuts to Billy and Ellen, trees, leaves and the guys. Drone shot of the location of the wedding as the sun is setting. C/U Billy and Ellen cutting the cake as it fades to black.

FMP Research

Practitioners:

Caleb Graham

bd3346ba561b5b55180dd1441a09d1ee

Caleb Graham is a freelance practitioner who lives in Australia, Byron Bay, which is heavily associated with surf culture. He’s been within the media industry for over 5 years. He began his career in editing short films for a company called ‘HeyWire’ and he has taught students the way of editing productions. Caleb regularly films weddings/events for ‘Wintersuns’.Wintersuns create wedding videos, real estate videos and corporate videos for companies.

The experience he has is:

  • Screen & media teacher: taught editing skills weekly to students
  • Management director for a company ‘Wintersun Productions’

His clients he’s worked with:

  • Ray White Yamba
  • First National Yamba
  • Elders Yamba/Maclean
  • The professionals Maclean/Yamba
  • Elders Grafton
  • Anglicare North Coast
  • ABC
  • Parkway Drive
  • Quicksilver
  • Vissla
  • Patagonia
  • Surfstich

Some of his productions are (you can find all of his videos on his Vimeo account – https://vimeo.com/calebgraham):

Parkway Drive documentary – https://youtu.be/yIJ7cKH5vlc

Surfing Video – https://vimeo.com/146233987

Wedding Video – https://vimeo.com/145030189

Critical Responce

As Caleb isn’t that big of a practitioner not many people have sad much about him, I went on the music videos he’s created and went on the comment section to see what people think of his work:

Louis Theroux

Louis_Theroux_at_Nordiske_Mediedager_2009

Louis was born in 1970 in Singapore, he’s known for making documentaries for the BBC  about controversial issues and people. He first got employed to become a journalist in California when the BBC noticed him and offered him this opportunity.

His documentaries have been up for nomination and some won awards, in 2001 and 2002 he won a BAFTA for best presenter, he also won a Royal Television Society Television Award in 2010 for best presenter.

Louis is known for his series called ‘When Louis met…’. It’s all about Louis visiting celebrities and seeing what they would get up to within they’re lives.

Here’s a list of documentaries Louis has made:

  • When Louis Met…
  • BBC 2 specials (A series of documentaries about different topics)
  • My Scientology movie

Reggie Yates

reggie-yates

Reggie Yates is a broadcaster, writer, actor and director. His first appearance in the media industry was when he played a role of a football player at the age of 8 in a comedy. He then carried on his acting career in a kids TV show ‘Grange Hill’. After his acting career mellowed down he then became a TV presenter, presenting shows such as top of the pops, quiz shows and kids tv shows. In 2013 Reggie travelled to South Africa to create a documentary about extreme communities.

Here is some of the production Reggie has created:

  • Ultimate Hell Week
  • Hidden Australia
  • The Guardian
  •  Touchdown USA
  • Life and Death In Chicago

Reggie has also collaborated with brands such as, Burton, Ebay, Comic Relief, Mercedes-Benz and Mazda.

Reggie has been nominated for many awards and has won a fair few, here is a list of the wins he has ones:

  • Royal Television Society Television Awards – Best Presenter
  • Royal Television Society Television Awards – Best Entertainment
  • Broadcast Awards – Best Multi-channel Programme
  • Edinburgh TV Awards – Best Factual Programme
  • Attitude Pride Awards – Attitude Ally Award
  • London Independent Film Awards – Best UK Short Film Feature

The reason why I have chosen Caleb to be my Practitioner to look at is because I love his style of cinematography and the way he portrays all of his productions, the way he edits all of his films is very artistic/professional and his music choices for his productions are appropriate.

I conducted a survey about two more practitioners to get an idea of what people what to see:

Screen Shot 2017-03-14 at 21.01.27

From this survey I made most people have heard of Louis and Reggie but not Caleb, most of them think their work is really good rating it 8/10, but some say not very. They also said that they like the way there documentaries are shot and the content is really good.

Documentary modes

Bill Nicholas is a film critic and he wrote a book explaining all the different kinds of documentary modes, these are:

  • Expository – where there is a narrator over top of the footage which is relatable to the content. (David Attenborough)
  • Poetic – where the power of editing can change the way the footage is viewed and can change the way the audience thinks about it. (Play of Light: Black, White, Grey)
  • Observational – This is where the footage is mainly raw and not edited much, the aim is to capture the subject as accurately as possible (Bob Dillon don’t look back)
  • Participatory – The film maker and the subject are faced together and recorded together (Louis Theroux)
  • Performative – This is where the filmmaker is a part of the documentary and draws in the audience with emotion (Supersize me)
  • Reflexive – This is where the documentary is shown on how its made (End of planet Earth)

My documentary will be in the style of Expository as I will be narrating over top of footage/pictures. Maybe observational as some shots I might have to do raw. Participatory as I will be meeting people and talking to them and performative as I will be playing music and talk to my audience.

Competition

To find out my competition I looked at what my one documentary is and search similar ones such as, short documentaries, documentaries about music, participatory documentaries. When researching these online I came across a couple of documentaries these were:

  • A documentary about how university cost effect students – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iEOsMUG5bEI
  • Parkway drive documentary on them touring the world – https://youtu.be/yIJ7cKH5vlc
  • A documentary about how a band created their latest album – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y8rDXEE-U4A
  • A documentary trailer about music around Asia – https://vimeo.com/ondemand/yourmusic/199238632

Shots from my Competition I want to create are:

Interview

Screen Shot 2017-03-15 at 18.07.49.png

Artsy Shots

Screen Shot 2017-03-15 at 18.11.01.png

Screen Shot 2017-03-15 at 18.12.15.png

Screen Shot 2017-03-15 at 18.13.22

Screen Shot 2017-03-15 at 18.13.42

Screen Shot 2017-03-15 at 18.13.47

Screen Shot 2017-03-15 at 18.18.56.png

Target Audience

To find out my target audience I first researched on how to find your target audience within a documentary. I found someones blog post ono how they conducted there target audience. They explained that depending on what your content is within your production differs your age range you’ll be showing it to. They also explain depending on either the language or content depends on what time/channel your production will be shown on. I also looked at some of my previous projects I had to conduct an audience profile, this is a table explaining what kind of people your production is aimed at. Within the audience you talk about what gender, age range, race, ethnicity, demographic status and psychographic status the people are you aiming towards. Finding an age range and what gender of people who you want to aim your production at would be a source of quantitive date. You also would need to research your subject/topic of your production as it could change your intended target audience. They way to get a good idea for your own target audience would be looking at similar productions to yours and look at what their audience would be and base it on yours.

For my documentary I’m going to make two audience profiles one being my primary audience which would be 12-25 and the other being the older half 30-50 . The demographics for my primary audience would be E-C2 as at that age they won’t have high earning jobs yet. For my secondary audience the demographics would be C1-B maybe A only because (A) may not appeal to this kind of content. The reason why I chose these are are because anyone can have an interest in my topic (music) which my documentary is about. My psychographics for my primary group are going to be aspires, succeeders, strugglers, explorers and maybe reformers. For my secondary group they are going to be, mainstreamers, succeeders and reformers. My documentary will appeal to both girls and boys as my topic can appeal to both genders.

Screen Shot 2017-03-29 at 13.52.21

Screen Shot 2017-03-29 at 13.52.31

I conducted a survey to find out my target audience (primary or secondary) here it is:

Screen Shot 2017-03-14 at 20.39.42

From conducting this survey my results show that my audience will mainly be teenagers who would watch documentaries and love music.

Ideally I would like this documentary to be shown on channel 4 so their target audience from what i found is mainly aimed towards the female audience, 20-30 year olds but here is what most of it says:

Screen Shot 2017-03-14 at 21.37.03.png

From my research the age range is 30-50ish mostly aimed at the female audience who enjoy watching TV and having a good tome socializing.

Legal & Ethical Issues

When I researched legal and ethical issues I across this quote: “We recognise that some programming may include material that has the potential to be harmful or offensive. This puts a responsibility on the broadcaster to take steps to provide adequate protection for the audience”. This means that when to broadcaster (TV channel) wants to show your production the responsibility is on their hands if the production is too offensive, so this is why production companies have guidelines which you must follow.

Some issues I will/may have to face within my production are copyright, this is when someone would use someone else’s music, video, pictures etc without the owner’s permission. The way you can use the owners content is if you get in contact with the owner and get their permission to use it or you pay them for it. If you wanted to broadcast your production you would have proof that you have the permission to use that copyrighted content.

Within my production there is a section where I was thinking of using some copyrighted music, it’s an instrumental piece to go over top of some shots, if I won’t be able to do that i will create my own music for to as I have the software to do so. Everything else is my own material.

Within productions containing people you will need to fill out consent forms to prove that the people you use within your film are okay with it and are happy for them to be broadcasted.

For my documentary I will need to have these as I am conducting interviews and I will have shots of different people so I will need to have a few consent release forms.

When filming on a private/owned location you all need to have a location realise form to prove that the owner has given you permission that they are okay with you filming there.

Within my production I will need to have couple of these as I have a few places I want to shoot my documentary.

My production I want to show before the water shed as it opens up a wider range for viewers. The water shed is mainly to protect young children from harmful/offensive material, this is done by showing this kind of ‘harmful/offensive’ material after 9pm. The kind of stuff which would mean the production is shown after the watershed are:

  • Sexual content
  • Bad Language
  • violence

As I want my documentary to have a wide audience I want it to be clean so no one would get offended by it. As I would like my production to be broadcasted on Channel 4 I would have to look at Ofcom at their ‘code’ which production obey by so they can broadcast it. Ofcom is the TV equivalent to the BBFC who decided what age range the production is.

Looking through the ‘code’ there is only one bit which would concern my production and that is privacy as I have old archive footage/pictures which have people within them.

Screen Shot 2017-03-17 at 10.16.40

Screen Shot 2017-03-17 at 10.16.26

Also another reason why I wanted to broadcast my production on Channel 4 is because they show a wide variety of shows and Channel 4 is a rapidly growing channel.

This information was found on this power point: channel 4 pp

Screen Shot 2017-03-17 at 10.50.31.png

Concepts, Ideas and Topics

Ideas that are going to be within my documentary are going to be:

  • Talking about my inspirations – Bands, people etc.
  • How I got into music, why I started, why I’m still going.
  • My other hobbies – Skating, work and creating music
  • My progression since I started to now
  • Footage/pictures of me at a young age to now – music class at college
  • Footage/Pictures of me playing shows
  • Interviews friends and family answering questions about me, how they know me, what they do etc.
  • Talk about instruments I play and taking about them – drums, guitar
  • Do collaborations with people who I do music with at college.

Topics I will be talking about will be my inspirations, I’ll talk about different bands such as:

Blink-182

Blink-182-Matt-Skiba.jpg

Formed in 1992 this punk rock band formed in San Diego, the band is a three-piece, Matt Skiba who does vocals and guitar, Mark Hoppus who also does vocal and he plays the bass, Travis Barker who plays drums. Matt is the lasted member as their previous singer Tom Delonge left due to disagreement issues. Bands such as Green Day, The Cure and Pennywise have inspired them. They have release 7 albums one which was nominated for a Grammy:

  • Cheshire Cat
  • Dude Ranch
  • Enema of the State
  • Take Off Your Pants and Jacket
  • Blink-182
  • Neighbourhoods
  • California

Killswitch Engage

3075_photo

Formed in 1999 in Massachusetts this metal-core band was formed. Jessie Leech doing vocals, Joel Stroetzel and Adam Dutkiewicz on guitar, Mike Diantonio on bass and Dusten Foley on drums. Their 2004 album got number 21 in the Billboard Charts which got gold in 2007, they were also nominated for the best live band in 2005.They have had a previous singer Howard Jones who left due to starting a different band. They have released 7 studio albums:

  • Killswitch Engage
  • Alive or Just Breathing
  • The End of Heartbreak
  • As Daylight Dies
  • Killswitch Engage (Remaster)
  • Disarm and Decent
  • Incarnate

Technical Requirements

Within my production I want to work on some different types of shots these being:

  • Slow Motion
  • Drone Shots
  • Shots where there’s lots of depth
  • Working with a steady cam

Some of the content within my documentary I will need to work on such as conducting interviews, I’ve never done that before so I will need to look into how to make interviews look professional, working with lighting and recording the audio. I will also need to record the narration for the footage at a professional standard.

When researching shots I want to use within my FMP I found watching videos on Youtube very helpful. Such as looking up on how to fly/use a Parrot drone (the one I’m going to use for my FMP) was very useful for a novice flyer.

Screen Shot 2017-03-15 at 13.42.40.png

I need to work on lighting for my interviews to make them look professional and appealing for the viewer, I found this video which explains it very well and is simple to use.

Screen Shot 2017-03-16 at 09.13.00.png

The list of equipment I’ll use within my FMP will be:

  • DSLR camera
  • Light boxes
  • Shotgun Microphone
  • Tripod
  • Dolly track
  • Parrot Drone
  • Final Cut Pro
  • Tie-mic

Test Shots

I wanted to do as much test shots as I could relevant to the things I’m not so confident in such as steady shots, panning/tracking, slow motion using the focus differently:

From recording these test shots I learnt that if I want to shoot slow motion shots I need to record in a high FPS as it looks slightly jumpy, recording panning shot make sure I use a tripod as panning wthout one is very hard to pull off.

Costs and Budgets

To find costs for equipment and people I can hire for my production I went onto the BECTU website which gives me that information, I also went onto the Phoenix website which is a venue locally to me which provides equipment for hire. As this is a student based project I don’t really have a Budget as such but I don’t mind putting money towards for hiring equipment the college doesn’t have. As this is a college project I can hire out equipment out for free so I won’t have to spend much money hiring out cameras, lighting etc.

BECTU rates for cameras, people to help out:

Screen Shot 2017-03-16 at 09.20.06

Heres the list of equipment you can hire out from hire out from the Phoenix which I would need for my Production:

If I was to get funding for my production I would pitch my idea to a website called ‘Kickstarter’ where you throw your idea out on the site wether its a movie idea, a game or anything creative, then public can donate money and give you feedback towards your idea. This will help towards your budget to spend on camera gear or editing software etc.

Evaluation

Journal #2

Journal #3

Journal #4

journal #5

 Pre-Production

Cast list

SKMBT_C28017051010280SKMBT_C28017051010290

Crew list

SKMBT_C28017051010291

Location recce

SKMBT_C28017051010293SKMBT_C28017051010294

Risk assessment

SKMBT_C28017051714143SKMBT_C28017051714144SKMBT_C28017051714145

Shooting script

SKMBT_C28017051010303SKMBT_C28017051010304SKMBT_C28017051010310

contributor consent forms

location release

SKMBT_C28017051714130

References:

A2columnd12 (2012) Documentary Research. Available at: https://www.slideshare.net/a2columnd12/documentary-research-target-audience (Accessed: 6th March 2017).

BECTU (2017) BECTU Rates. Available at: https://www.bectu.org.uk/advice-resources/rates/freelance-camera-rates (Accessed: 16th March 2017)

Exeter Phoenix (2017) Exeter Phoenix. Available at: https://www.exeterphoenix.org.uk/facilities/equipment/ (Accessed: 16th March 2017)

Grant, J. (2016) Reggie Yates. Available at: http://www.reggieyates.com/about (Accessed: 15th March 2017).

Guilherme Vinícius Garajau (2012) Parkway Drive – Home is for the Heartless. Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yIJ7cKH5vlc (Accessed: 2nd March 2017).

IMDb (2017) Louis Theroux. Available at: http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0857621/bio?ref_=nm_ov_bio_sm (Accessed: 14th March 2017)

Jack Ferguson (2016) Participatory Documentary. Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iEOsMUG5bEI (Accessed: 5th March 2017).

Kirkman, T. (2001) Lighting for Interviews. Available at: https://www.bhphotovideo.com/explora/video/tips-and-solutions/lighting-interviews (Accessed: 10th March 2017).

Linkedin (2010) Caleb Grahan Linkedin. Available at: https://www.linkedin.com/in/caleb-graham-03924817/ (Accessed: 2nd March 2017)

Nguyen, T. (2010) Target audience. Available at: https://zoe91.wordpress.com (Accessed: 5th March 2017).

Ofcom (2013) Watershed. Available at: https://www.ofcom.org.uk/tv-radio-and-on-demand/advice-for-consumers/television/what-is-the-watershed (Accessed: 14th March 2017)

Ofcom (2015) Guidance Notes: Harm and Offence. Available at: https://www.ofcom.org.uk/__data/assets/pdf_file/0037/86788/section2-july15.pdf (Accessed: 10th March 2017)

Ofcom (2017) Privacy Code. Available at: https://www.ofcom.org.uk/tv-radio-and-on-demand/broadcast-codes/broadcast-code (Accessed: 17th March 2017)

Stray Angel Films (2014) Basic Cinematography: How To Light An Interview (3 Point Lighting Tutorial). Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MLlMl2KuZi0 (Accessed: 16th March 2017).

Toy, Gadget and Product Reviews by Dad Does (2015) Parrot Bebop Drone with Skycontroller Review – Part 1. Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vnlp2mwivsk (Accessed: 15th March 2017).

Vimeo (2008) Caleb Grahan Vimeo. Available at: https://vimeo.com/calebgraham/about (Accessed: 2nd March 2017)

Vimeo (2015) Wintersun Productions – Wedding Films promo 2015. Available at: https://vimeo.com/129341589 (Accessed: 2nd March 2017)

Vimeo (2016) Chris Zaffis at home – Winter 15’. Available at: https://vimeo.com/146233987 (Accessed: 2nd March 2017)

Wikipedia (2017) Bill Nichols. Available at: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bill_Nichols (Accessed: 14th March 2017)

Wikipedia (2017) Blink-182. Available at: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Blink-182 (Accessed: 10th March 2017)

Wikipedia (2017) Killswitch Engage. Available at: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Killswitch_Engage (Accessed: 10th March 2017)

Wikipedia (2017) Louis Theroux. Available at: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Louis_Theroux (Accessed: 14th March 2017)

Wikipedia (2017) Parkway Drive. Available at: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Parkway_Drive (Accessed: 10th March 2017)

Wikipedia (2017) Reggie Yates Awards. Available at: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Reggie_Yates#Children.27s_BAFTA_Awards (Accessed: 15th March 2017)

Wikipedia (2017) Travis Barker. Available at: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Travis_Barker (Accessed: 10th March 2017)

Wintersun Productions (2015) For tender: Brushgrove Hotel – Clarence Coast Real Estate. Available at: https://vimeo.com/145213719 (Accessed: 3rd March 2017)

Wintersun Productions (2015) Wintersun Productions – Wedding Films promo 2015. Available at: http://wintersunproductions.com.au (Accessed: 2nd March 2017)

Wintersun Productions (2016) Billy and Ellen || North Coast wedding. Available at: https://vimeo.com/145030189 (Accessed: 3rd March 2017)

WordPress (2011) Poetic Documentarys. Available at: https://epowdocumentary.wordpress.com/documentary-modes/poeticmode/ (Accessed: 14th March 2017)

Yougov (2017) Channel 4 Target Audience. Available at: https://yougov.co.uk/opi/browse/Channel_4_(TV_Channel)/correlations (Accessed: 14th March 2017)

Leave a Reply

